My Android Adventure, an intro   3 comments

Hello no-one

I thought I needed to write down what I thought about my new toy.  The whole iphone thing passed me by and I couldn’t understand the whole fuss about it, then Google announced the Android project and that got my interest.

So after waiting for my current contract to run out I was open to select a new phone and after looking I decided on the HTC Desire.  Sure it has its faults (battery life/small internal memory) but nothing I figured I couldn’t work around.

Well I have now had it for about a month and I am constantly installing, trying new apps and uninstalling them.  I thought this would be a good way for me to keep track of what I have tried and what I find to be any good.  I also thought that maybe someone else out there, who is new to Android, would find this useful.

So here is a list of what I currently use as opposed to what I have installed.  So from the top :-

3g Watchdog – Useful for keeping track of monthly data allowancem, I am too cheap to go over it.
Acast – Good free Podcast software, recently regreshed UI really improved this.
Angry Birds – Wish I never installed it, can’t keep my son off it.
Apps Organiser – Great for putting folders of shortcuts right on my home screen.  I am too lazy to go browsing
c:geo – Nice free Geocache software, really shows my sad and geeky side.
Juiceplotter – Good for estimating battery life remaining, it shows that I should put it down and stop playing.
Newsrob – Very good newsreader for RSS links.
my6sense – Even better Newsreader and slowly replacing Newsrob for me, it rates what you read and displays what it thinmks you would like.  Seems pretty good.
Substrate – Current live wallpaper (becasue they aren’t too battery hungry and they make the phone look cool)
Asteroid Belt Free – Another free wallpaper with floaty space stuff in it.
Tasker – My only bought app – find this very good for automating functions for when I am at work or if I am sleeping.
Jorte – Replaced my standard Sense calendar with this as the calendar widget displays what I have on that day as opposed to just a reminder that something is there.

I will try to write further articles, maybe comment on Android news stories and maybe at some point I might even try to write App reviews.  I will be writing to slag off 3uk if I don’t get Froyo at the end of this month, they only have a few days left to get it out.

So until next time, ciao and peace out.

Steve (writing from My Android Adventure)

Posted September 27, 2010 by myandroidadventure in Android, Articles

Tagged with , , ,

3 responses to “My Android Adventure, an intro

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Steve – Great article, some good content….don’t get me on about the Iphone4..though…I’m very happy with my Samsug Galaxy S.

  2. Excellent – 3g Watchdog, Juiceplotter, Jorte
    Uninstalled – Angry Birds, Apps Organiser, Newsrob, Substrate, Asteroid belt
    Reserving Judgement – Acast, c:geo, my6sense
    Did not install – Tasker

  3. Can recommend these:
    Taskos – Task list
    My fitness – tracker for what you eat and fitness etc.
    Bump – Passing Photos, contacts etc to other peoples phones and vv…just bump together.
    Anti Virus – does what it says on the tin.
    DailyHoroscope –

Leave a Reply

