3uk you made me wait too long   Leave a comment

Hello No-one

So there I was waiting for 3 to finally roll out Froyo (Android 2.2) for my shiny nearly new HTC Desire and I suddenly thought “Stuff it” I have waited long enough.  I am sick and tired of 3 promising things that just never appear.  It was supposed to come out a few weeks after the HTC release and then it was going to be the end of September and that date is well and truly passed and then it was going to be 2 more weeks while Google put it on their servers.

Well enough was enough, that was all I could stand and I couldn’t stands no more, it was time to take the plunge.  I had been reading about various methods of getting Froyo, from Rooting and flashing a custom ROM to just installing stock HTC Sense.  Well in the end the stock Sense won out as it does all I really want my phone to do for now.  Maybe another day I will grow bored with it and I will need more functionality or speed that a custom ROM promises to deliver but for now I just wanted a phone that I could push some APPS onto my SD card and would be groovy and turn both ways in landscape mode.

So after downloading and installing the necessary HTC Sync of my PC I downloaded a file called :-RUU_Bravo_Froyo_HTC_WWE_2.09.405.8_Radio_32.43.00.32U_5.09.00.20_release_140022_signed

The above file is all I needed to turn my phone from a bloaty 3 branded phone into the sleek none 3 branded phone I own today.  So there I was my phone USB’s to the PC and the my finger ready for some double clicking and single clicking of next buttons and to be honest I was real nervous.  I lost count of the number of times that I almost installed the RUU (Rom update utility) but didn’t.

But then I took the plunge and finally clicked the final OK button on the above piece of software and my phone was already being wiped.  I maybe should have thought more about the things I was going to lose through doing this but it was nothing I couldn’t get back, Podcast subscriptions and such.  In less than 10 minutes it was done and my phone rebooted not with a 3 splash screen but with an HTC splash screen.  My gold card had worked (did I not mention gold card creation, oh well I made one).  Went through the normal new phone routine and all my contacts came back, Facebook repopulated and calls and texts all worked, it was a joy.  Software re-installed from App Brain and I was good to go.

Now that I have Froyo I have found my phone to be quicker, I have more internal memory thanks to the ability to push stuff onto my SD card and my battery seems to last a whole lot longer too.

So for those of you out there who are sitting on the fence and waiting for your providers to help you with update, I say go update yourselves.   Obviously after reading into the matter more thoroughly that I have outlined above.

The author is not responsible for what you do with your phone so don’t come blaming me when you break it.

So go have fun with your Android, ciao and peace out.

Steve (writing from My Android Adventure)

Posted October 11, 2010 by myandroidadventure in Android, Articles, News

Leave a Reply

